

## MINUTES OF THE 85th ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

### HELD ON SUNDAY 6th NOVEMBER 2016 AT 11.00 AM

A quorum was present and a register was signed by 53 attendees.

### **APOLOGIES;**

The apologies as tabled were accepted as recorded.

R. Watt, A Morris AGREED

- in and go out. For 2016/17 year we my show it in the P & L  $\,$
- Note 10 should read Note 8

The Financial Accounts were adopted and approved: P Hensmen, M Robertson AGREED

Minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting held on Sunday 9<sup>th</sup> November 2015 were accepted as a true and correct record. S Cornell, R Watt AGREED

### **MATTERS ARISING:**

. The Auditor- As per the previous AGM the committee were to look at changing the Auditor. We are pleased to say Blackmore Virtue & Owens were the appointed as the Clubs auditors.

# PRESIDENTS REPORT

A copy of the report tabled by the President is on the website.

S Marryatt, A Morris AGREED

**APPLAUSE** 

### TREASURERS REPORT AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS.

Sharon Marryatt presented and tabled her report,

### **Questions/Input from the floor**

Grants- No Rates this grant as the rates were substantially decreased in the 2015 year. Masterpoints- The variation can only be explained as timing, though the masterpoints average \$12000.

• NZ Bridge levies- this is not shown as an expense or as income. The monies come

# A resolution: To approve and adopt the Audited accounts. For the period 30 June 2016

• That the Club appoints Blackmore Virtue & Owens as the auditors for the 2017 year.

S Marryatt, A Morris AGREED

## <u>APPOINTMENT OF OFFICERS &</u> <u>COMMITTEE.</u>

Mark Robertson took over this part of the meeting.

**President** - Anne offered herself as president - Duly elected – applause

**Treasurer** – Sharon retired by rotation, was then duly nominated and elected – applause The Constitution allowed for 6-10 committee members.

Allan retired by rotation, was duly nominated and elected-applause

Mike who was co-opted during the year, he completed his nomination forms and was duly elected.

Owen nominated Nicole McGuiness and Sue Reed, they were duly elected.

### The Following are the new 2017 Committee

President Treasurer Anne Barrowclough Sharon Marryatt

### LITTLEWOOD BURSARY:

The 2016/17 recipients of the Harry Littlewood Bursary is Suzie Hart -

### **OTHER BUSINESS:**

The President addressed the recent development

...There has been an open letter from one of a NZ Bridge Board member to affiliated bridge Clubs advising us that he disagrees with a number of actions of the board, and mentions restructure plans, misinformation and non-communication.

As with most issues there will be two sides to consider and if a restructure is proposed there are the additional factors of employee's rights, and due process to consider.

In a restructure there must be a consultation period, when the proposal and the reasons for it are articulated and circulated, and that will be the time that responses and comments are appropriate.

The letter also suggests that the board is not functioning well. That is a matter for others on the board to respond to, and that issue needs to be separated out from the restructure issue.

At this stage the ABC will not be drawn in to public comment.

THE MEETNG CLOSED AT 11.40 am

# **COMMITTEE**

Mark Robertson Allan Morris Mike Dunn Peter Hensman Bianca Van Rangelrooy Sue Reed Nicole McGuiness

### **Other Matters:**

Refurbishment to the bathrooms, can mechanical drying devices be looked at?

Subscriptions 2017 A resolution - That the Subscription remains unchanged – G Wakefield, A Morris

AGREED