# Auckland Bridge Club March 2018 Newsletter

# Mark on your Calendar

Easter Congress - Sponsored by 7 St Vincent &Remuera House of Travel31 Mar - 2 AprAnzac 8B Pairs25 April

# Farewell to Debbie, Club Manager

On 2 March Deborah Tangney left after managing the Auckland Bridge Club for 4 years. We thanked Debbie for her excellent contribution to the running of the club and she left with a lovely watch from the club. We were all sad to see Debbie leave the team but wish her all the best in her overseas adventures.

# Congratulations

<u>SGM</u> – this meeting held on the 2<sup>nd</sup> of March which ratified the committee's decision that Murray Weatherston become club president.

## Warm Welcome

<u>New Club Manager</u>– after the detailed announcement appointment of Clare Wade, we welcomed Clare on Monday 12 March.

# Membership

New Members

#### A very special welcome to new and returning

members - Marg Morgan, Oliver Hoffman, Sue Hujlich, Clare Doole, Judy Hart, Karen More, Rob Clark, Heather Malcouronne, Jill Patterson, Serena Ha (Youth), Wayne Smith, Bruce Forbes, Marianne Forbes, Michael Stacey, John Matthews, Desré Simpson, Robyn Spottiswood, Christine Bryan-Wells, Mary Chamberlain, Ming Zhu, Liz Barrett, Els MacKenzie, Lachie Shea

#### Passed Away

Sadly, we said farewell to - Patrick Bell, Jean Brenton, Lorraine MacGibbon

Well Done - New Zealand Bridge certificates Silver Grand Master -Douglas Russell Grand Master – Rosemary Matskows

## Helper of the Month

This month it is to a member who quietly did a job that just needed doing.

Wayne Smith
-------------

Club Pride, Cleaning Outside signage

## Education

**2018 Beginner Lessons** started 5 March. We are particularly thrilled to have a very large beginners starting their bridge journey

# **Club Highlights**

#### 2017

<u>Sunday afternoon bingo</u> – thank you to Chris and Angie Fitzgerald who put a lot of effort into a fun pre-Christmas fundraiser. The afternoon was enjoyed by many.

### December – January 2017

<u>Repainting of the interior of the club rooms</u> – Over the Christmas break the painters came in and refreshed the whole interior of the club rooms. A refreshed cream interior with accent trim on doors and door frames. The old noticeboards were taken down and replaced with new noticeboards.

## **Please return trophies**

IF you have a club trophy at home can you return it to the club office so that it can be engraved with you and your partners name.

## 2018 Club Results

January Pairs	MON AM	Jan Brown & Brett Hart
January Pairs A	TUE PM	Russell Watt & Brent Mandel
January Pairs B	TUE PM	Suzie Bosher & Bruce Wright
January Pairs A	WED AM	Elaine Fisher & Bruce Fisher
January Pairs B	WED AM	Jaqui Furniss & Annie Satterthwaite
January Pairs	WED PM	Jessica Morris & Robin Topham
January Pairs	THU PM	Carol Joseph & Nicky Bowers
January Pairs A	FRI AM	Susan Horn & Trudy Lange
January Pairs B	FRI AM	Barbara Hayes & Joan Beagle
February Pairs	MON AM	Heather Robertson & Wayne Smith
February Pairs A	TUE PM	Trudy Lange & Brent Mandel
February Pairs B	TUE PM	Christine Bryan-Wells & Jill Benton
February Pairs A	WED AM	Liz Ware & Carol Joseph
February Pairs B	WED AM	Sue Sunberg & Annie Satterthwaite
February Pairs 4	WED PM	Ian Handricks & John Wilson
February Pairs	THU PM	Mark Robertson & Sylvester Riddell
February Pairs A	FRI AM	Alma Kwan & Birgita Muller
February Pairs B	FRI AM	Foss Dodds & Terry Melhuish
February Pairs	FRI PM	Gay Bradbury & Margaret Harkness

### **Tournament Results**

## <u>October</u>

Thursday 8B teams won by Team Bach – Peer Bach, Carlos Pelligrini, Michael & Vivien Cornell Orewa 5B Open 1st Leslie Watt & Cheryl Winsor, 3rd Russell Watt & Jo Clark <u>November</u>

Waiheke 8B Restricted - 1st Peer Bach & Lanell Monreal, 2nd Anna Powell & Dave Garrett Interclub winners – Junior: Auckland Force – Judy Aldridge, Judy Burrows, Moyra Cooke & Rachel Lewis. Intermediate: – Waiheke Sharks & Open: – Team Watt – Auckl& - Russell & Leslie Watt, Bev & Alan Morris

East Coast Bays Restricted 8B – 1st Peer Bach & Heather Robertson, 3rd Tracey Lewis & Nick Edginton

Rawhiti 8B Thursday tournament Stan Abrahams & John O'Connor

Winner of Colbeck Cup – points for the 2017 year of 8B tournaments Barry Palmer

Hibiscus Coast 3A 2nd Douglas Russell & Wayne Benefield,3rd John O'Connor & Jeremy Fraser-Hoskin Hibiscus Coast 5B – 3rd Sharon Marryatt & Carol Joseph Club Restricted. 1st Tracey Lewis & Jeremy Fraser-Hoskin

#### <u>January</u>

Babich Holiday Pairs – &i Boughey & Matthew Brown Waitemata 5A 2nd Christine Wilson & Wayne Benefield, 3rd Patrick Carter & Carol Richardson Canberra – Julia Zhu & Tony Jiang – 2nd in Restricted Teams & 2nd in Restricted Swiss Pairs; Graham Wakefield & partner 1st N/S Overall in Men's Pairs

#### <u>February</u>

Waitangi Day 8B Pairs, Colbeck Cup – Steve Boughey & Matthew Brown

Bell Taylor 5A Pairs, sponsored by Sibuns Funeral Services 1st – Bruce Bell Salver - John Wang & Hank Ping, 1st ladies pair – Eileen Taylor Salver Linda Cartner & Steph Jacob

**Orewa 8B Pairs**, 2nd Patrick Carter & Lee McGovern **Papakura 5B Pairs** – 2<sup>nd</sup> Ming High & Jan Brown, 3<sup>rd</sup> Angie & Chris Fitzgerald

Gold Coast Restricted Pairs finals

14<sup>th</sup> Sue Cohen & Karen Smith 15<sup>th</sup>= Nicky Bowers & Joy Watkinson March Thursday 7St Vincent 8B – 1st Julia Zhu & Geo Tislevoll

East Coast Bays 3A – 1st Neil & Mike Stuckey East Coast Bays 5B Intermediate – 1st Candice Doyle & Karen Smith,



# From the Director

New System Club points for annual session trophies.

On the recommendation of Director Patrick, the Committee has adopted a new system for calculating club points for the annual session trophies

- 1. Where a session is played in two sections, if there is only one trophy, points will be awarded only for Section A
- 2. Pairs competitions for both Howell and Mitchell competitions, points will be awarded to each member of the pairs with the top 6 scores in each session (irrespective of seating) on a 6-5-4-3-2-1 basis. [This means 42 Club points will be awarded each session]
- 3. Teams events
  - a. If the event is run on an IMPS pairs basis, session points will be awarded as for Pairs above.
  - b. Otherwise, club points will be awarded to each member of the teams who score the four highest VP scores for the session on a 4-3-2-1 basis. [This means a total of 40 Club points will be awarded each such session.

These new rules will be applied as from 1 January 2018.

It is felt that this new system is much fairer from week to week. Previously team events had a significant higher weight.

It is recognised that the it is theoretically possible that in any session, the pairs methodology could result in all points in a particular session going to N/S pairs and no points to E/W pairs (or vice versa). However we expect statistics will prevails and both those would be rare circumstances and over the course of the year we would expect N/S points to be close to the same as E/W points in aggregate.

We intend to publish running scores for these trophies regularly, but as yet the mechanism for calculation is being finalised





Photos from our farewell to Debbie on 2 March.

